GAME DAY: Bears at Sound Tigers – 1/3

Have all of you come down from that awesome victory celebration last night?

Honestly, I don’t think I have, just yet.

I said five times after Chris Bourque scored the overtime winner against the Binghamton Senators, “I don’t believe it!”.  But, I did… and I did all along.  I even have audio proof of Frank Schofield and I talking about how the team was at least going to tie the game after going down 5-1.

They did.  And why did they do it?

1) Nathan Walker.  With his parents in the crowd visiting from Australia, Walker elevated his game above the NHL level in my opinion.  He was flying, he was crashing the net, he was stepping into scrums, and… oh yes… he scored two goals in the same game for the first time since the Bears blew out the Charlotte Checkers in North Carolina back on November 14, 2013.  Walker was absolutely clutch – and he is back in the building where he scored a big goal that allowed the Bears to defeat the Sound Tigers on November 4.

2) Garrett Mitchell.  Was it because he is Walker’s linemate?  Was it because it was just his second game back from injury?  Was it because he is the captain?  Whatever it was, he didn’t score a bigger goal than last night’s game-tying marker with less than two minutes left in regulation.  That goal was a thing of beauty – and, although he didn’t do it the same way, the timing reminded me of the game-winner he scored at Utica back on October 24.

3) Our fans.  To all of you, you were the loudest I’ve ever heard in a losing situation.  Trust me, the team built off of that.  Let’s bring that heat when we come back on January 10.

Tonight, the Bears wrap up their visits to Bridgeport with a 5:00 PM faceoff against the Sound Tigers.  Hershey is 2-0-0-0 here, and 0-1-0-0 at home against the Sound Tigers… so let’s keep that road-team-wins pattern alive and 2016 will be off to a really good start.

Here are tonight’s game notes, broadcast information and neat tidbits.

Air time in 5 minutes.  GO BEARS!
-Stucc