Crunch Time for Home Points; Senators at BEARS 2/9; Finding Nemo

Good morning all!

Coming off of a 3-2 shootout victory over the Lake Erie Monsters on Tuesday, the BEARS are back home to battle the Binghamton Senators tonight at 7:00 PM.  HERSHEY is in the middle of a stretch of four out of five games on home ice.  After this weekend, six of the next seven will be played on the road.

Except, things went backwards for the BEARS during the first half of the season.

Home ice advantage hasn’t come – yet.  The BEARS are in the eighth spot in the Eastern Conference and still have plenty for which to play.  Win tonight, and it’s a character hit to the conference-leading Senators (who, to their credit, have played remarkably well under Luke Richardson’s guidance and without several of their top offensive players).  Win tomorrow, and it’s just another day at the office (the Norfolk Admirals are in last place in the division and 14th out of 15 in the conference – it SHOULD be a win).  That would equal a four-point weekend and a much better-looking home record, which now stands at 10-13-3-1.

I, for one, would like to see tonight’s game decided in the BEARS’ favor - and in regulation.  Four of the last six games have gone beyond 60 minutes (and Dany Sabourin started all four).  The good news?  No matter what happens, you earn a point in such games.

Defensively – as we have said all along – this team has what it takes to win.  The goaltending has more than proven itself.  The club is on a run of 19 consecutive games in which it allowed three goals or less.  Trouble is, in many of those games, there has not been goal support for Sabourin or Philipp Grubauer.  I still firmly believe that it will come in due time. 

My pick for tonight, in a matchup of defense #2 (Binghamton) and defense #4 (HERSHEY) is a two-goal game – this one going to the BEARS by a 4-2 count.  It’s high time that the BEARS score more than three for the first time in a month (1/13 vs. Connecticut).

Before I close, I want to address those who like to throw gibes at me for my past career of being a meteorologist.  I’ll say three things before wrapping up:

5480-winter-storm-nemo1) I have NO idea why “they” are now naming nor’easters.  NO CLUE.  Nor do I care for it.  The Weather Channel and all of the national newscasts have completely commercialized their broadcasts and I HATE IT, being a student of the actual science that goes into forecasting.  So if you haven’t found Nemo yet, just turn on your TV.

2) I spend little to no time perusing forecast models anymore, so I unfortunately can’t help you with travel forecasts out of the central Pennsylvania area.

3) Yes, I really am a meteorologist.  I’ll post a picture of my degree one day.  :)

Sorry for the rant.  Game notes are all set here for tonight’s contest. 

And… GO BEARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

-Stucc

This entry was posted in Hershey Bears Hockey. Bookmark the permalink.